- British Touring Car Championship online

Team/Driver news News : Double championship glory for Team Aon

Double championship glory for Team Aon

Mon 11th October 2010 Team Aon celebrated a fantastic conclusion to the 2010 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship as the Arena Motorsport run Ford squad won the Independents Team Trophy and Tom Chilton secured the Independents Trophy for drivers.

Brands Hatch in Kent bathed in glorious sunshine for the finale of a fantastic seasons racing. Tom Onslow-Cole made a strong start to Race One as he bid to win the drivers title, but his challenge was over almost before it began as he suffered gearbox failure on lap nine, ending his championship challenge with Jason Plato securing top honours in his Chevrolet. Tom Chilton recovered strongly from a poor start to bring his Calor Gas powered Focus ST home in 7th position scoring valuable points in the process.

Race Two of the day saw both Team Aon cars make great starts with Chilton moving forward from his 7th place start and Tom Onslow-Cole jumped 11 places from the back of the grid following his first race retirement. However, it wasn't to be the New-Malden ace's day as he suffered a hydraulics failure ending his race on lap 11. Chilton meanwhile, made good progress and finished the race in 5th, once again adding to his championship tally and securing enough points for Team Aon to be awarded the Independents Team Trophy.

The final race of the season was a hugely tense affair as the Independents driver's title was within Chilton's grasp as he started from third on the traditional reverse grid. Shadowing Steven Kane's BMW all of the race, Chilton finished the final race of the season on the podium as champion, securing double independent trophy success for the Littlehampton based squad. Tom Onslow-Cole was desperately unlucky as he again suffered with hydraulics failure on the warm-up lap.

Tom Onslow-Cole: “It's been a frustrating day and a really bad way to end the season. But we did come here in the title hunt and I've still finished fourth in the championship, which is a great achievement for only my third season in the BTCC and so I can go home happy, with the focus on coming back next year even stronger.”

Tom Chilton: “It was a hell of a fight to win the Independent Driver Trophy and right now it feels like the best thing ever. We obviously would have loved to have won the series outright, but it is tough to compete with the manufacturer teams, so winning the independents is all we can really ask for; we'll have a good party tonight!”

Mike Earle, Team Principal: “A fantastic day for Team Aon securing two championship trophies, although it is somewhat bitter sweet as we would have loved to of won the champion outright. Tom Onslow-Cole was desperately unlucky with three DNF's today and so we're disappointed for him. Tom Chilton did a fantastic job to clinch the Independent Trophy though under extreme pressure so I'm delighted for him and the whole of Team Aon as Independent Team Champions.”

Previous Story: Jason Plato crowned 2010 BTCC champion
Next Story: Record crowd flocks to BTCC season finale
News Index | Home

Share |

Post your comments below OR Click here to discuss in our forum

PageCat: Rounds